Life

With Love, From Dublin

Today I walked over to Grafton Street, which is one of Dublin’s main shopping streets, and picked up a bunch of postcards! I spent my afternoon sitting on a bench in beautiful St. Stephen’s Green park writing notes to my family and friends both at home in Canada and abroad. It was such a warm and sunny day today and this was the perfect way to spend it!


To be honest, I’ve been so busy getting settled into my new apartment and exploring my new city that I haven’t really had the chance to think about home and the life I’ve left behind. When I started to write the postcards it started to hit me that I don’t know when I will see my family and friends next, and even when I do it won’t be the same as when we all lived in the same city. It’s strange to be so far away from the people I love most in the world (well besides Seรกn of course!). I know though that they are happy for me, and that they will always be there for me even though we are over 7000 kilometres apart. There’s things like Skype and iMessage and Whatsapp. It’s like I’m back in a long distance relationship again, except this time it’s with my best friends. I know the time will go by quickly and I’m sure soon enough I’ll be on a plane back to Vancouver to visit home. And in the meantime my family and a few of my friends have said they’ll come visit me in Dublin! It would be so much fun to show them around this wonderful city.ย I can’t wait to show my family the countryside and the castles. As for my friends, I’ll be taking them on a night out here so they can experience some proper nightlife! Shopping too of course because European style is just so much better than Vancouver style. And then who knows maybe they’ll fall in love with Ireland. Or an Irish lad (they’re pretty great, can confirm).

img_6368-1

6 thoughts on “With Love, From Dublin”

  1. I really hope you enjoy living in Dublin! I am from there, but now live in Sweden with my Swedish husband. It is super exciting to move to a new place to be with somebody you love. Life takes a very weird and unexpected turn but it all makes sense!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww how nice. The place looks so beautiful. I am sure you miss them but at least you get to be with the person you love ๐Ÿ˜Š. And yes I am sure it’s weird being in an Ldr with family and friends In stead lol

    Like

  3. This makes me really happy. I love reading/hearing all the little check-ups on relationships like mine. My boyfriend is also Irish, and lives in Glenealy, but I’m American. We’re still toying with the idea of where to live; he wants to move to Canada, but I’m looking to stay here or move to Ireland, LOL. I’m scared about closing the distance with him and creating distance with my parents, but I know we just have to take it one day at a time. I hope you see your family again soon!
    Devon

    Like

Leave a comment