Veganism

HCLF Vegan Raw Till 4 Lifestyle: UPDATE

Desperately in need of a cleanse after the Christmas holidays, I decided to alter my diet to include more raw fruits and vegetables. I took it one step further and adopted a High Carb Low Fat Vegan diet, where I ate only raw fruits and vegetables for breakfast and lunch, and a cooked meal of vegetables and potatoes, rice, or pasta for dinner. Click here for a more thorough description of the lifestyle!

It’s been a month now and I’ve decided to share my thoughts on how I felt eating this way. I’ll start off with saying I will not be continuing with the Raw Till 4 lifestyle, simply because it didn’t work for me. The diet definitely does work for some people (think Freelee the Banana Girl), but just because it works for some people doesn’t mean it will work for everyone. Some people can eat 2500-3000 calories of fruit a day and thrive, but I am not one of those people. I do work out but I am not nearly active enough to require that many calories every day. Not to mention, here I was eating an abundance of (fruit) calories, yet I was always hungry. I was reaching for another apple or another orange every hour just to make it through to my next meal.

There were, however, some aspects of this lifestyle that I really did like. I will be continuing with a litre of lemon water every morning when I wake up (and of course drinking lots of water throughout the day). I also enjoyed having smoothies every morning, so I will continue to do that – but instead of adding 5 bananas, perhaps now only 1 or 2. I have realized that I really missed having my oats in the morning. Oats are a great breakfast food because they digest slowly and keep you feeling full. So I’m bringing back the oats! Either raw as overnight oats with chia seeds, or cooked as porridge with cinnamon and sliced apple. I tried this today and what do you know, I wasn’t hungry until 1pm – lunch time! I do like the idea of incorporating more raw foods in my diet, as they have nutritious benefits, so I will continue to have salads for lunch with lots of raw veggies – but I will now also include things like beans, sweet potato, and rice. With plant-based whole foods you really can’t go wrong – fruits, vegetables, whole grains, beans, and legumes are all healthy foods. There is no reason to limit one food group and focus on another. Balance is key. My dinners will be the same as they before: things like chillis, curries, or Buddha bowls – pretty much whatever I’m in the mood for.

I think that last point there is important, I will now eat whatever I’m in the mood for. If I’m craving fruit for breakfast that’s fine, but if I’d rather have oatmeal that’s fine too. Eat the way that works best for you. Some people can have 30 bananas a day and some people can only have 1. And that’s ok! We are all different people with different bodies so it makes sense that we have different needs. It’s easy to get caught up in diets and labels but it’s so important to remember that what matters most is that you listen to your own body. So as of now I am no longer HCLF or Raw Till 4, I’m just listening to my body and doing what makes me feel my happiest and healthiest!

  • 27/04/2017 - Today I’m grateful for motivation from my wonderful boyfriend. I know I should workout and I know how good I’ll feel afterwards, but sometimes it’s so hard to drag myself to the gym (even though it’s only around the corner…). Seán exercises every day, either working out in the gym or playing rugby, and knowing… Continue reading 27/04/2017
  • 26/04/2017 - Today I’m grateful for my evening yoga class. After long hours at work it’s so nice end the evening in a relaxing way. I’m also grateful for my comfy bed and going to sleep early. I was so tired today so I’m glad I listened to my body and had a early night tonight. 
  • 25/04/2017 - Today I’m grateful for my heater! It had been starting to warm up here in Dublin but today out of nowhere the temperatures dropped. My room is so cozy right now and I’m oblivious to the cold outside. I’m also grateful for a warm and nourishing bowl of roasted veggies, potatoes, and tahini. This is… Continue reading 25/04/2017
  • 24/04/2017 - Today I am happy that I took the time to organize my life and prepare for the week ahead. I’m grateful for my fridge full of food, my organized agenda filled with tasks for the week, and my clean bedroom and fresh sheets. I’ve also made my lunch the night before so I won’t be… Continue reading 24/04/2017
  • 18/04/2017 - I’m grateful for a wonderful weekend in Sligo. It was so nice to have 4 days off to relax in the beautiful Irish countryside. I always love spending time at Seán’s family’s cottage and this weekend was no exception! I’m grateful that I live in a country with rugged mountains, endless green fields, and beautiful… Continue reading 18/04/2017


2 thoughts on “HCLF Vegan Raw Till 4 Lifestyle: UPDATE”

  1. Good for you! I agree with you regarding the over use of labels and things. We should try to listen to our own bodies and not get caught up in fads. I applaud you for going the vegan life. I tried it a couple of years back and though I felt pretty good for a while. I was always hungry too. I went back to eating meat and haven’t looked back. The one thing I have done is to eat less – far less than what I did before and I am happy with it. I live a sedantary lifestyle (writer) and I don’t burn that many calories, so I don’t need that much food. One foodstuff that I just can’t do without is fruit. It doesn’t matter what season it is – I need fruit all the time. I find that fruit and my water intake helps keep me flushed and feeling lighter. I don’t take in a lot of carbs either. Now I’m just rambling. LOL Anyway, I am happy for you that you found out what works for you and that you’ve shared that mindset with everyone and I hope that those people reading this will try your idea and listen to their bodies first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

