Veganism

HCLFV? 801010? Raw Till 4? What’s that?

HCLFV. 801010. Raw Till 4. So what is all this about? A HCLFV lifestyle is a High Carb Low Fat Vegan diet. Basically it means a person gets 80% of their calories from plant-based carbohydrates, 10% of calories from plant-based protein, and the remaining 10% from plant-based fat. So now you might be thinking “80% carbs? That’s crazy!” But I’m here to tell you why no it’s not, and why I’m trying out this approach on veganism. First of all, when I say carbs I’m talking about the good type of carbs: complex carbs. Forget the simple carbs – things like white sugar and white bread – I don’t think I need to tell you that those won’t benefit you in any way. Instead think fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. The high carb content of a HCFLV lifestyle is primarily made up of fruits. We know that fruit is healthy and rich in vitamins and minerals, but everyone may not know that fruit is also full of antioxidants, proteins, calcium, and essentially every other nutrient the human body needs to function. Because of this abundance of nutrients, a HCLFV lifestyle has so many benefits including improved digestion, clearer skin, healthier hair and nails, increased energy, weight loss, satiation after meals, less cravings, and hormonal balance.

Raw till 4 is a lifestyle that optimizes a HCLFV diet. Food loses its nutrients as it is cooked, so the idea here is to eat raw nutrient rich plant based whole foods until the last meal of the day (the 4 stands for 4:00pm). Raw foods are also easier and faster to digest than cooked foods, so eating faster digesting foods before slower digesting foods helps the digestion process and reduces things like bloating.

Here’s what I eat in a day on a High Carb Low Fat Vegan Raw Till 4 diet:

8:00am I start my morning with 1 litre of water with lemon

9:00am I bring a smoothie to work, made up of bananas, berries, and spinach

10:00am-12:00pm I snack on fresh fruits (usually grapes, blueberries, and an apple) and bliss balls (dates, oats, flax seed, and coconut)

1:00pm For lunch I have overnight oats made with almond milk, rolled oats, chia seeds, mashed banana, kiwi, and passion fruit OR a large salad full of leafy greens, raw bell peppers and mushrooms, avocado, apple cider vinegar, and lemon juice

2:00pm-5:00pm I snack on raw veggies (usually cucumber, carrots, cauliflower, and broccoli)

6:00pm For dinner I have a cooked meal full of yummy plant based whole foods. Often some form of bean and veggie chilli with sweet potato, or a chick pea and veggie curry with brown rice

I’ve been doing Raw Till 4 for one week so far, and I plan to continue this way until the end of the month. I just really felt that I was in need of a cleanse after the Christmas holidays and this diet rich in nutrients and vitamins seemed like the perfect thing to try. I’ll be sure to post a follow up at the end of the month to share how I feel after one month of living the HCLFV Raw Till 4 lifestyle!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “HCLFV? 801010? Raw Till 4? What’s that?”

  1. This sounds great, Britt (though I don’t think I could be that disciplined). Let us know how you feel after the month is over. By the way, I recently learned that one whole coconut — milk and meat — can provide the average person with almost all of their daily nutritional needs, including protein! I was amazed by that. Talk about nature’s perfect food!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

