Love

Closing The Distance

 

Closing the distance. That’s the end goal for every long distance relationship. The day where you no longer have to get in a car or a plane to see each other. You’re finally together!

It’s been about two weeks since I got on a plane to Dublin with my one way ticket and I’m having the most wonderful time exploring Seán’s city with him by my side. Dublin is a beautiful city with incredible architecture and so much history. The little things are the best part for me though. Like shopping in the same chain of grocery store as him. Or when he mentions a street name and I actually know where it is. Or best of all, when he calls (rings) me on my cellphone (mobile) and asks me to hangout later that day. Because that’s a thing we can do now.

It’s amazing and it’s exciting but it can also be overwhelming. A lot is changing in your relationship. You’re around each other A LOT more than before. Your lives are now shared. When you’re used to the freedom and independence of an LDR this can be a bit of an adjustment. One of you is going to be dependent on the other. The person who moved hundreds or thousands of kilometres away from their home, their friends, and their family is going to need a lot of support. In my case, that person is me. And I’m so grateful that Seán has been so wonderful in helping me set up a life here, and that his friends and family have been so welcoming. I’m in a new country, a new continent even, so I really appreciate the support. Speaking of being in a new country, make sure you do some research on the place you’re moving to! Look into culture, customs, and etiquette. If another language is spoken there try to learn the basics. And then once you’re there in a new country, you’ve got your S/O to act as your own personal tour guide! Explore their city together, hold hands, kiss, go on dates – you can do it all now!

It’s crazy to think back to when Seán and I first met. He was from Ireland and I was from Canada so I didn’t see the relationship (or whatever it was at that point) going anywhere. On our first date he told me all about Ireland, and I remember thinking to myself about how I would love to go there one day. I never imagined I’d be going only 6 months later, and to visit him!! And even crazier, I never thought that I’d one day be moving halfway across the world to be with him. Life works in crazy ways and when it’s meant to be, it’s meant to be. No amount of time or distance can change that.

img_3571
A photo I sent to Seán on his birthday last year! Looks like the package finally shipped 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Closing The Distance”

  1. Loved reading this, and that photo at the end is cute! 🙂 Life has lovely ways of working out 🙂 I think you have inspired me to write a little post about me and my other half. We met while working together, yet ended up on the other side of the world from each other, and it was only then we got into a committed relationship. It’s so amazing to be so close to each other now. Good luck in Ireland! Dublin is so great! There is a place I would love to visit, not too far from Dublin, it’s called Glendalough, you should check it out! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

