Travel

Next Stop: Bangkok

Today’s the day! I’ve packed my things and said my goodbyes. I will be heading to Vancouver International Airport at 11am and will arrive in Bangkok 18 hours later, where Seán will be waiting for me (his flight gets in 3 hours earlier). I am so unbelievably excited! This trip that we started planning months and months ago is finally happening. Soon we’ll be amongst elephants, temples, white sand beaches, turquoise oceans, and all the pad Thai we can eat. Essentially we will be in paradise.

It’s always been a dream of mine to travel the world. I want to visit every part of the world and experience as many different cultures as possible. I love everything about traveling – the challenges of navigating in a foreign city, and the feeling of independence that follows; the opportunity to see pieces of history up close and in person; the new and exotic foods; the beautiful, breathtaking sights; and the interesting, like-minded wanderers you meet along the way. It is so surreal to me that my dream is finally coming true. I’m actually doing the thing I always wanted to do. It may not be the typical route, the safe bet, or the easiest lifestyle, but it’s what I want. I know I wouldn’t be satisfied doing anything else, and I’m proud of myself for not settling for a life that isn’t for me.

The next 2 months are going to be a crazy adventure. We’re going to be traveling through 4 countries and visiting 16 cities. I am beyond lucky to be able to this with my boyfriend, and I know we going to have so much fun together, we always do! Seán and I have only spent a total of 5 weeks together since starting long distance 9 months ago, so the fact that we get to be with each other for 2 whole months is so absolutely amazing.

We went out for pad Thai on Seán’s last night in Vancouver, back in March. It was so exciting knowing the next time we would have it together would be in Bangkok. I cannot believe that in less than 24 hours I will be with him again eating pad Thai, and this time it will be authentic!

Alright well, I should probably get back to packing and repacking my backpack and checking I’ve got everything I need for the 1000th time. Goodbye Canada, hello Thailand!!!

 

6 thoughts on “Next Stop: Bangkok”

Leave a Reply

