Life

I Graduated – Now What?

Today was the big day. I woke up at 5:30am (thanks for that UBC), put on a pretty dress and heels, and ventured out to campus to join hundreds of my peers in struggling to get our gowns on, hoods pinned, and caps straight before our 8:00am convocation. The ceremony itself was kind of a blur, but I am certain of one thing – I didn’t trip on stage. I’d consider today a success. After the service was over I was greeted by my family with a big beautiful bouquet of peonies, lilies, and daisies. I then took some (read: hundreds) of photos in the rose garden with family and friends. I got lucky with the weather, it’s been raining the past few days but today the sun was out! We later went out for lunch to a restaurant called Seasons, which is located in a beautiful garden and has a perfect view of Vancouver. My lunch was delicious! To start I ordered the vegetarian tasting board which included bruschetta, hummus, olives, asparagus, artichoke, walnuts, and pickles. I also had a salad made up of beets, papaya, avocado, and arugula. It was a wonderful day!


Today was so busy that I didn’t really have time to reflect on what its implications were. It’s starting to hit me now. I’ve graduated! I’m done. So what now? I can’t even count the amount of times that I’ve been asked “So what are your plans after graduation?” in the past year. Whether it’s my family, friends, or employers, everyone seems to want to know. And I don’t really have an answer for them. The truth is I have no idea. I haven’t decided what my future holds yet. And I think that’s OK. Sure I’ve got plans for the summer to backpack through Southeast Asia, and the beginnings of another travel related plan in September, but what I’m doing isn’t the typical “go to grad school” or “get a full time job in my field” type of plan. I have no idea where I’m going to live or what kind of job I’m going to get. And I’m perfectly happy with that! Here’s why.

I’m young and I want to enjoy these years. I have so much time later in life to settle down and live in one city and get a “real job” (if I choose to). Right now I want to explore the world, learn more about myself, try new things, and test my comfort zone. This is the first time in my life where I’m not on a set path and it couldn’t be more exciting. I can finally literally do whatever I want. There is nothing holding me back. So the next time someone asks me what I plan to do after graduation I’ll happily tell them that I have no idea, but that I know it’s going to be great.

7 thoughts on “I Graduated – Now What?”

  1. Congrats!! I hope that you enjoy your summer, your “youth”/young days, and discovering new things after graduation~
    Wishing you the best,
    MimITa

    Like

Leave a Reply

