Life

My Reading List

In my last post I mentioned that I want to get back into reading. I thought I’d share a bit about a few books I’ve read recently, and a list of the ones I plan to read in the near future. Please feel free to recommended some of your favourites to me! I’m always looking to add to my list.

The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman

This story takes place in Rome. The characters are the staff of an English language newspaper. What makes the story interesting is that each of the book’s chapters are about the individual lives of each of the staff members, with the stories always overlapping and relating back to one another. The stories range from hilarious to heart breaking making the novel a compelling read.

The Paris Wife by Paula McLain

This is the story of Ernest Hemingway’s first wife, Hadley Richardson. It is told from her point of view and gives a glimpse into Hemingway’s early years before fame, and an account of their marriage and life in Paris. I enjoyed this book because of the detail of 1920s Paris and the presence of many famous people in literature, such as F. Scott Fitzgerald, Gertrude Stein, and James Joyce. I knew this novel was doomed from the beginning, as Hadley was only the first of four wives, yet I still found myself in tears at the final chapters.

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I was excited to read this novel because it is a psychological thriller, much different from my usual genre. The book follows the lives of three women, Rachel, Anna, and Megan, and how their lives become intertwined after Rachel witnesses something shocking while taking the train one morning. I haven’t made up my mind if I liked this book or not. I found that I disliked the unreliability of Rachel, the main protagonist, but I did find I could not put the book down until the mystery was solved.

Lolita by Vladmir Nabokov

I’ve just begun this novel today. Although it is already disturbing, it is very well written and I can tell it’s going to be a very interesting read.

Reading List:

Ulysses by James Joyce

P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín

My Paris Dream by Kate Betts

This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Díaz

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

13 thoughts on “My Reading List”

  1. Lolita is next on my reading list! It’s on my nightstand right now. I’ve been wanting to read it for years but I am currently working my way through Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple works. Even though it’s disturbing, I hope you enjoy Lolita!

    Like

  2. Reading more is definitely on my list of goals as well. Actually I’m trying to read 52 books in 52 weeks and I’m a couple books behind, I’m going to look at some of your suggestions! You should sign up to goodreads it’s a nice site for readers 🙂

    Like

  3. I really wish you luck with Lolita and Ulysses. They are from different literature genres, but you will surely need some patience while reading them! And i’m goining you in goodreads 🙂

    Like

  4. Woooo, Ulysses by James Joyce – that’s a tall order! Good for you! I would love to hear your thoughts/opinions once you tackle it. Personally, I loved The Girl on the Train, though I don’t enjoy the constant comparisons to every psychological thriller involving a woman being the “next Gone Girl.” I tend towards those types of novels and I particularly like the Irish author Tana French. Brooklyn is just beautiful. (Are you seeing the theme that I am from Ireland?) Me Before You is one book (okay, there’s many) that made me cry tears of both absolute joy and pure heartache. The movie is also coming out soon! I already have my date night set for it. xoxoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

