Life

Why I Quit My Job and Sold My Car

I’ve just done something some people may see as crazy. I quit my administration job at a private investment firm in downtown Vancouver. The job was wonderful; my employers were friendly, the office was beautiful, and the company paid for my lunches and all the coffee and fresh pressed juices I could drink. I also just sold my perfect 2011 white Jeep Wrangler.

So why, one might wonder, did I quit my perfect job and sell my dream car? I was comfortable here, and that was part of the problem. I crave adventure, new experiences, and change. I’ve just graduated from college and moved out of my campus apartment. Other than my job, friends, and family, I had no real commitments keeping me in Vancouver. This seemed like the perfect time in my life to drop everything to go off and explore the world. I’ve always loved traveling, and ever since I backpacked through Europe two summers ago, my wanderlust has been impossible to shake. I couldn’t wait to get back out into the world and cross off more destinations on my travel bucket list. Unfortunately, with college and work (to pay for college), I couldn’t justify going off on a big trip. But now that college is over I’ve got nothing stopping me.

My boyfriend and I will be meeting up in Bangkok early June (on our one year anniversary – how adorable are we?), and backpacking through Southeast Asia for the summer. We will be going to Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, and Cambodia, and visiting a ton of cities and islands in each country. I’m so excited for this adventure. It’s a dream come true for me, especially to be doing it with my boyfriend. Travel is something I’m so passionate about and I’m so happy that my boyfriend feels the same way. We’ve got so much planned: jungle treks, visiting temples, volunteering at an elephant sanctuary, and so much more. We’re both also super excited to live off of food like pad thai, spring rolls, and thai curry for a few months. I’ll be sure to post about our adventures in Southeast Asia so follow along if you’d like to hear more!

As for after Southeast Asia, I’ll be returning to Vancouver, but not for long! I’ve got more big plans coming up. Life is such an adventure in that you can make it anything you want to, and that’s exactly what I plan to do.

16 thoughts on “Why I Quit My Job and Sold My Car”

  1. WOW this is my dream. I can’t wait to graduate college so I can go off like you, tired of staying in the same place! Good luck to you and can’t wait to hear about it!

    Like

  2. This is the exact trip I will be doing in 2017! Can’t wait to hear about your travels and where you recommend!

    Like

  3. Yes! Love this! Will follow you through the summer on your adventures through Southeast Asia! Good luck and remember life is short so live it to the max and with no regrets! Sami πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. awesome, I admire people who quite the norm which society expects us to conform to. bravo honey! I also quit a career in accountancy and packed off abroad. Have a fabulous time travelling with your beaux. I hope to read all about your adventures.
    ps.you were the first person to ‘like’ my blog. what a wonderful feeling – I’m sure you remember

    Like

Leave a Reply

